Peripateo

Image

Birds say good morning 

Fog over the water slowly lifting 

Black liquid bringing back acuity 

Judaism swims my mind, where do these sacred souls fit in the spiritual constellation?

Colossia, what would it have been like to live there? Walk in day to day… to hear Paul. 

Peripateo: hebrew meaning:” to walk about” the same word Paul commands Christians to “Live” in Christ.  The Australian right of passage was to do a ” walk about” to go through their land alone.They were to walk a journey into adulthood. Paul is asking the believer to approach their life in Christ as a  “walk about.” Now I’m not saying that we are to live a life of solidarity but rather point to the importance of the journey.. the ” walk about” that is our day to day. 

I find myself saying often “no one tells you how much of a victory just getting out of bed in the morning is” Now before your mind jumps to depression or how each day is a blessing and a gift… I don’t disagree: its just that life is HARD. If its not then I might venture to ask what are you not doing that you know your called to do. 

It brings healing to my fragile heart that I know life to be hard and Paul is saying ” hey, lady its ok!” You are trying- you are being sustained- you are being grown- in your Peripateo. 

Where are you in your peripateo? In your walk about? Perhaps you have just passed a lonely season of solo walking or maybe your walk about is hand in warm hand with community. Maybe you are living- the hard, messy and undone life of one who is ” living” in Christ, who is on the peripateo… 

 

 

 

About RootsSinkDeep

Words to keyboard, not quite the same as pen to paper, but for now in a season of flurry and tiny chaos, this will do. Though I long for the feel of graphite under hand I am grateful for fingers that work the same. May you join me as I seek to find joy in the ordinary?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

