To be Full of Care, Careful that is.

porch Look at this dock, worn. This dock is beat up, weathered and probably stood against more than one raging storm. I would probably be careful to walk out on those planks. Boards may be loose, nails high, splinters asking….

I wish tonight I would take the same care with my mouth than I would my feet on those boards. That dock is a work of art and made by a carpenter no less…..

My conviction rises that through the flurry of stress and frustration my mouth can be used for such good and oh so much harm. I want to believe that a ransomed Spirit covered in Holy Blood would be well intentioned but I am reminded of my selfishness…. of the stain of sin can be so deep……

12Who is the man who desires life And loves length of days that he may see good? 13Keep your tongue from evil And your lips from speaking deceit. 14Depart from evil and do good; Seek peace and pursue it.… Psalm 34:13

Psalm 140:3
They make their tongues as sharp as a serpent’s; the poison of vipers is on their lips.

Oh how we have all spoken venom…..  do we despair? Do we leave our sin-stained selves to sulk?

1 Thessalonians 3:13
May he strengthen your hearts so that you will be blameless and holy in the presence of our God and Father when our Lord Jesus comes with all his holy ones.

may HE strengthen YOUR hearts. The eternal do-er is reminded that it is HE who has overcome. He who has victory has won. His Holy Spirit that has the power to strengthen this weary heart.

Dear Friends, we live in a world against the one who seeks to steal, kill and destroy. Turn on the 5 o’clock news if you have any doubt.  He is the Father of Lies and the Accuser. May we stand strong as a body by the blood the Lamb and power of our Testimony. We must be careful, full of care that it is. May the ins and out of day-to day life not numb you to the still small voice that is seeking to convict and conquer.

bat

About RootsSinkDeep

Words to keyboard, not quite the same as pen to paper, but for now in a season of flurry and tiny chaos, this will do. Though I long for the feel of graphite under hand I am grateful for fingers that work the same. May you join me as I seek to find joy in the ordinary?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

